top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKyla Stepp

Spring 2024 Newsletter: Week 15

We’ve (almost) made it through the spring semester! I hope your last week of classes and exams go well. This will be the final Pre-Law Newsletter for the year, so please make sure to read it all, whether you are graduating or not.

 

Graduating Seniors

If you are graduating this semester, congratulations!! I am so happy for all of you and can’t wait to see what your futures have in store for you. Please, please, please keep in touch so I can know how you are doing in law school, your summer law jobs, jobs after graduation, etc. I will always be available for questions or advice, or just to vent to when you are losing your mind in school and need someone to talk you out of quitting. If you are taking some gap time before law school, remember that I am here for alumni advising as well, so please let me know when you are ready to take the LSAT or apply to law school, and I am more than happy to help when the time comes!

 

I do have one final request for graduates, whether you are going to law school next year or not - please take a couple of minutes and email me to let me know your plans for next year and/or for law school (you can just reply to this email!). I am trying to keep track of our CMU alums and where they end up. Additionally, I would love to have a list of alumni who are willing to talk to future pre-law students about the law schools they chose and to answer questions from them about the school, what to avoid, tips and strategies, and other wisdom you'll learn after a year (or several) in law school. Even if you are going far away to law school, or taking some gap time, please take just a moment to let me know. I appreciate it!

 

Summer Advising

Although I do not have set days and hours for pre-law advising over the summer, that doesn’t mean I am not available to meet! My online appointment calendar will be turned off over the summer, so if you’d like to meet via WebEx or a phone call, please just email me and let me know. I am happy to help with any issues or questions that may arise during the summer months.

 

LSAT Reminders

Registration for the 2024-2025 LSAT cycle will open in mid-May. As I mentioned in an earlier newsletter, beginning with the August 2024 administration, Logic Games will be a thing of the past (they will be replaced with a second Logical Reasoning section). Additionally, keep in mind that LSAC’s fee waiver program can help save you hundreds of dollars, and that most people are eligible for at least some help; everyone should apply! The link is below.

 

 

Have a great summer!

Kyla

Kyla Stepp, Ph.D., J.D. (she/her)

Associate Professor  |  School of Politics, Society, Justice & Public Service

University Pre-Law Advisor  |  Director  |  Pre-Law Center

203 Anspach  |  Central Michigan University  |  Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 

989-774-3259  |  kyla.stepp@cmich.edu 

Schedule your Advising Appointment

Check out the Pre-Law Center Website 


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spring 2024 Newsletter: Week 10

I hope you all enjoyed spring break! I have some (more!) LSAT updates for you this week. 2024-2025 Test Dates It took longer than anticipated, but the 2024-2025 LSAT test dates have been released. As

Spring 2024 Newsletter: Week 8

We are almost halfway through the spring semester! I just have some LSAT updates for you this week. April LSAT Registration Deadline First, I have spoken with some of you about taking the April 2024 L

Spring 2024 Newsletter: Week 7

Good morning! As a reminder, our pre-law discussion with CMU Alumna and attorney Marisa Vinsky is happening tomorrow, February 21 at 3:30 p.m. It will be held in Anspach 161. See below for the informa

bottom of page